Skip to main content

Family Assistant

Young family of 4 (2 children, ages 2&4) in Noe Valley, San Francisco is seeking a full-time Family Assistant. Ideal candidates will be self-starters with a positive, warm, friendly attitude who are willing to pitch in where needed. Duties will include driving the child, preparing snacks, simple dinners, light housekeeping, laundry, errands, etc. The candidate must be a confident cook and able to follow simple recipes.

  • Monday-Friday
  • Flexible to work occasional weekend hours
  • 35-40 hours. Exact schedule TBD
  • Start Date: End of August

Primary Responsibilities:

House duties:

  • Laundry (adults, kids, sheets/towels)
  • Organizing
  • Light cleaning / tidying between weekly visits from cleaning crew
  • Water indoor/outdoor plants
  • Dishes
  • Simple weeknight dinners
  • Grocery shopping, errands
  • Supervising / directing weekly cleaning crew and other service providers as needed
  • Open to rarely helping with entertaining (e.g. preparing for overnight guests and holidays)

Child related duties:

  • Pack lunches for kids the night before.
  • Picking up or dropping off kids at school on days when parents can’t do it (probably about 2 times per week, more if one of the parents is traveling)
  • Available to occasionally come early or stay late on weekdays to provide childcare (i.e. if the family is is traveling, or have late meetings, etc.)
  • Openness to weekend hours would be a plus
  • Openness to rare overnight hours and traveling on vacation with family would be a plus, but not required


  • Qualities that the family is looking for: self-motivated, organized, able to problem-solve, efficient, flexible, collaborative, engaging, enjoys kids (their boys are quite fun and easygoing), able to use Google docs for shared calendar and lists
  • The family is looking with someone who is comfortable with some schedule changes from week to week, rather than needing a rigid arrangement. Their goal is to be mutually flexible to accommodate each others’ needs
  • Candidates will need to have their own car. Parking is very easy at the family’s residence, they live very close to the 280 which should make commuting easier
  • Candidates are welcome to eat whatever food the family has in the home , and to stock foods that they like
  • The family keeps a kosher home and eat mostly vegetarian / fish. They have separate sets of dishes for milk and meat. They do ask that candidates not keep any non-kosher meat in their refrigerator/freezer

Applicant Requirements:

  • A minimum of 2 years of private experience required
  • Excellent references from past employers
  • Fluent in English-written and verbal
  • Tech savvy
  • Non smokers only!
  • Valid driver’s license and good driving record
  • Must be able to pass an in-depth background check
  • Must have access to a reliable vehicle
  • Able to work legally in the United States
  • Must be able to make a long-term commitment


  • $25-$32 | Hour -DOE
  • 2 weeks’ paid vacation
  • Paid holidays, sick days
  • Healthcare stipend-negotiablefavicon


Please Share Your Feedback!